*contains mild spoilers*

“Perfect is overrated. Perfect is boring.”

I smile. “You don’t think I’m perfect?”

“No. You’re delightfully screwy, and I wouldn’t have you any other way.”

This book has been on my TBR list for ages now. I didn’t know how this one would compare to Anna and the French Kiss, since many of my friends liked Anna better than Lola. Nonetheless, I took a chance at it.

20160911_112318.jpg

Synopsis

Lola Nolan is a budding costume designer, and for her, the more outrageous, sparkly, and fun the outfit, the better. And everything is pretty perfect in her life (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood. When Cricket, a gifted inventor, steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

Review

★★★★  4.6 stars

I loved every single bit of this book. Lola is extremely quirky and unique; she has a special talent for sewing and making all sorts of costumes that she wears. She’s different, and she likes that. I enjoyed reading about her obsession with clothes and old-fashioned things, her living with her two dads, and her dog, Heavens to Betsy.

Although this book was extremely alike to Anna and the French Kiss, I think that Lola is more unique and interesting to read about. The more the plot thickens, the more we get to know about the backstory of Lola and Cricket. However, the one thing I am still confused about is HOW CRICKET BROKE LOLA’S HEART. Did Anna ask him out and he said no? Were they dating and then Cricket had to move? I need to know!

What I didn’t like was that Max was such a sweet boyfriend at the beginning, and at the beginning I actually wanted Lola to end up with Max, which of course changed as we got to know more about Cricket. The thing was that all of a sudden, Max turned into this annoying guy just so that Lola would have a reason to break up with him. I mean, yeah, there had to be some way of getting Lola to break up with him, but I’d rather have it some other way, breaking the relationship off slowly instead of suddenly.

Overall, the plot was really well-written. Stephanie Perkins has done it again, making my heart melt in a pile of gush. If you asked me to pick a favorite between this book and the first one, I wouldn’t have an answer for you. They were both so equally good! If you loved Anna and the French Kiss, then you will like this one too. ~K

20160911_112130.jpg

