Apologies for not posting last week! K and I had a relaxed but chaotic Labor Day ! 😅 Anyway, let’s get on to a 1975 classic: Natalie Babbitt’s Tuck Everlasting.

Every sixth grader was reading this book, well, except for my teacher’s language arts class. My language arts teacher always told us that we would come around to reading it soon, but as the end of the sixth grade school year came around, I knew that this would have to be on my TBR list. Going to seventh grade, there was a whole new genre I was introduced to: crime mysteries. I indulged in those books and completely FORGOT about my TBR list. A few weeks ago, I checked my TBR list and saw that Tuck Everlasting was on there. So I went to the public library and picked up a copy of the book, and started to read.

20160828_103354_HDR

Purchase Tuck Everlasting here on Amazon. It’s relatively short, so it’s retailed from $6-$9. (I feel bad for putting this book on my squash plant.)

Synopsis Natalie Babbitt

A kidnapping, a murder, a jailbreak. If this were Winnie Foster’s story only, it would be like any other great adventure: you would come to an end, with all resolved, and that would be that. But this also the story of the Tuck family and therefore, though it has a beginning and middle, it can never end.

The two stories cross near the village of Treegap during a handful of hot August days in the 1880’s, days which are a curious mixture of violence and love, of anguish and tranquillity. And when those days are over, young Winnie is left to make a fundamental choice. When she chooses at last is not what she might have chosen at first. For when you have known the Tucks as Winnie has, however briefly, you can never be the same again. 

Review:

★  4.0 stars

It was so hard to put down Tuck Everlasting. It only took me ten minutes to finish the book. I quite enjoyed the story, but it left me hungry for more of an in-depth description of the setting and more memorable characters. The morals in Tuck Everlasting were essentially masked, and to completely understand it, I had to do a mental book analysis.  Babbitt was able to introduce the concept of immortality in a clever and believable way, and she didn’t quite give it away in the synopsis.

I was glad that the book ended well, in my opinion, for Winnie.  BUT WHAT ABOUT JESSE?!?!?! (I’m not going to spoil the rest, you have to read this classic novel. 😉)

Do you have any book suggestions? Shoot us an email at booksandcranniesweb@gmail.com !

Till then! ~M

