Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

After reading the first installment of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, I just had to read the second book. I borrowed this book from M, and the second I got the book from her, I immediately started again on the peculiar journey this book offers.

20161113_163820-1

*Picture taken by M, since I did not have the dustcover when she lent me the book.*

Synopsis

This second novel begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended. Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.

Complete with dozens of newly discovered (and thoroughly mesmerizing) vintage photographs, this new adventure will delight readers of all ages.

Review

★★★★ 4.1 Stars

I dived into this book, expecting a classic case of  “Middle Book Syndrome,” which is basically saying that the middle book in a trilogy isn’t even comparable to the plot in the first and last book. Basically, I expected this book to be nothing more than a filler.

I can’t say it wasn’t a filler because it definitely seemed like it was. However, the book exceeded my expectations. Hollow City immediately begins on the peculiar children’s adventure, and it immediately pulled me in. More danger, more enemies, and even a talking dog! What’s not to love?

I loved the fact that we could see much more of peculiardom than the first book. It was very interesting to see more than just Miss Peregrine’s little island, and Ransom Riggs left pretty much no unanswered questions in his world and character building. The vintage photos added in this book were definitely not disappointing. Every single picture was delicately taken to bring the scenes to life.

In my opinion, Hollow City was very fast-paced, and the plot has many twists and turns that captivated me. I expected nothing less from Ransom Riggs, who has up to now never disappointed me with an entertaining read. There was never a dull moment in this book, and I had a lot o of trouble putting this book down! I recommend this book to… practically anyone! If you haven’t read this series yet, then please, please read it soon! Or, at the very least, put it much higher up on your overflowing TBR list. 😉 -K

20161113_163613

Leave a Reply

