Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

I stumbled upon this book when I first saw a close friend reading it after school. Immediately, it grabbed my attention, but I didn’t know why. Maybe it was the jacket of the book, fit with a floating girl, or the extensive title that everyone noticed. But nonetheless, I was determined to read that book. A few days later, I read the synopsis of Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children, and it was captivating.


This trilogy can be bought separately, in a boxed set, or as an ebook. (I prefer the boxed set for the photos, but that’s my opinion.) You can purchase the books here on Amazon, or at any place that sells books. The retail price is $18.99 for each hardcover book, or $56.97 for the boxed set with photos.

Synopsis    Ransom Riggs

mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. And a strange collection of very curious photographs. It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children who once lived here—one of whom was his own grandfather—were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a desolate island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.


★★★ 3.9 stars

Ransom Riggs  is the author behind the dark fantasy trilogy [Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children], and with his storytelling, takes his readers on a journey of adventure, mystery, and (frankly) peculiarity. What’s so unique about this YA trilogy is the effort put into each book. Vintage photos shape the storyline and help you imagine each character and the setting of the scenes. Everything twists and turns, stops you for a moment in anticipation of horror and thrill.

As I read the synopsis, I anticipated that the plot would be horror-filled and dark, but it turned out to be more… strange. In the After* , things begin to get interesting, with time loops, Wales, the identity of Dr. Golan, and especially the relationship with a certain peculiar… 😉 The next two books, Hollow City, and Library of Souls, seem to be much better as the storyline moves. (I think it was intended as a trilogy, since there only is a minor climax in the first and second book. It becomes more thrilling in the last book.)

One last thing to add: the movie is coming out in theaters on September 30 this year. Watching the trailer has made me uneasy, and frankly, I think the movie will be a bit more scary. The major difference in translating the book to the movie is the peculiar powers Emma and Olive have. I highly recommend this book, and reading it before you watch the movie.

Happy reading! ~M


*read the book, and you’ll find out what ‘After’ is


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s